CYNGOR SIR YNYS MON / ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL	
COMMITTEE:	Standards Committee
DATE:	14 December 2022
REPORT TITLE:	Community Council Members of the Standards Committee
PURPOSE OF THE REPORT:	To advise the Standards Committees on the appointment of two community council members to the Standards Committee
REPORT BY:	Lynn Ball Director of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer <u>Ibxcs@ynysmon.llyw.cymru</u> 01248 752586
LINK OFFICER:	Lynn Ball Director of Function (Council Business) / Monitoring Officer <u>Ibxcs@ynysmon.llyw.cymru</u> 01248 752586

1. BACKGROUND

Under Part III of the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended by the Local Government Act 2006) the Council must have a Standards Committee consisting of no more than 9 members, the majority of whom must be independent members of the public.

The Standards Committee currently consists of five independent members, two community councillors (both seats being vacant) and two county councillors (who are appointed annually by the Council). Information on the Standards Committee's membership can be seen <u>here</u>.

There is a requirement for the community council members to be collectively nominated by all the community councils after every local government election (or if either should cease to be a community councillor at any time).

A process has therefore been undertaken following the election in May 2022 to appoint two community councillors to the Isle of Anglesey County Council's Standards Committee.

2. PROCESS

The process undertaken to appoint the two community council members to the Standards Committee following the May election is detailed in the report presented to full Council on 6 December 2022. A link to the report can be seen <u>here.</u>

On 30 June 2022, the Monitoring Officer wrote to all town and community council clerks requesting nominations by no later than 30 September 2022. A reminder was sent on 12 September 2022. By the closing date, four valid nominations had been received.

On 6 October 2022, a postal ballot was conducted to allow each town and community council to vote for up to two of the four candidates (on the basis there are two vacant seats on the Committee). A request was made for the ballot papers to be returned to the Monitoring Officer by 19 November 2022. 16 town and community councils responded to this request with 31 votes received.

On 23 November 2022, the process followed was verified by the Chair of the Standards Committee and two successful candidates were identified.

Whilst the nomination of the community council representatives is to be made collectively by the 40 town and community councils on the Isle of Anglesey County Council area, the decision to appoint the two successful councillors as co-opted members of the Standards Committee must be made at a formal meeting of the Isle of Anglesey County Council. That decision is expected to be made at a meeting of full Council on 6 December 2022.

If Council agrees, the appointments will be made for two councillors as co-opted members of the Standards Committee until the next local government elections, or for as long as they remain community councillors; whichever occurs first.

3. SUCCESSFUL CANDIDATES

The two successful candidates following the ballot are:-

- Councillor Margaret Ann Thomas of Llangefni Town Council and
- Councillor Iorwerth Roberts of Bryngwran Community Council

4. COUNTY COUNCIL DECISION

A verbal update on the discussions undertaken and the recommendation made at a meeting of full Council on 6 December 2022 will be given at the Standards Committee meeting on 14 December 2022.

5. RECOMMENDATION

For the Standards Committee

- (a) to note the contents of this report; and
- (b) to be given a verbal update on the decision made by the Council at its meeting on 6 December 2022 in relation to the appointments.